BC's Wark and Japan's Matsumara victorious at Driving Force Cashspiel

Teams from around BC, as well as Korea, China, Japan, Washington, Yukon, and the Northwest Territories, competed in the Driving Force Cashspiel at Abbotsford Curling Club this past weekend. BC’s Team Wark won the Women’s event and Japan’s Team Matsumara won the Men’s event.

Representing Abbotsford, Sarah Wark’s team of Kristen Pilote, Carley Sandwith and Michelle Dunn was one of two women’s teams to go undefeated in the round robin, the other being Team Thompson of Kamloops and Vancouver. Both Team Wark and Team Thompson progressed straight to the semifinals.

After beating the Chinese team of Sijia Liu, Yilun Jiang, Ziqi Dong and Xindi Jiang in an extra end in the quarterfinals, Team Brown met Team Thompson in the semifinals, winning by a score of 6-3 to move on to the finals. Team Wark faced Team Gushulak in their semifinal, winning with a score of 8-5.

Team Wark continued their winning streak in the final Women’s game, taking the win over Corryn Brown’s team of Erin Pincott, Dezaray Hawes and Ashley Klymchuk with a score of 8-3.


In the Men’s event, reigning BC Men’s Champion Team Geall faced reigning Yukon Men’s Champion Team Scoffin in the semifinals, with Sean Geall’s team of Jeff Richard, Andrew Nerpin and David Harper winning 7-5.

The Japanese team of Yuta Matsumara, Tetsuro Shimizu, Yasumasa Tanida and Shinya Abe won their semifinal against Maple Ridge’s Team Dezura 6-5.

While Team Geall was the first to get a point on the board in the final Men’s draw, Team Matsumara took the win with a score of 7-1.


“The Abbotsford Curling Club and its members were very excited to host BC’s best men’s and women’s curlers and watch them compete against some of the top international teams from Asia,” said Abbotsford Curling Club Manager Kent Bird.

“It was great to see some excellent curling and even better to see how well the BC teams performed. Six of the eight teams that competed in the semifinals were from BC. Team Geall and Team Wark, representing the Abbotsford Curling Club, both made the finals, with Team Wark going on to win the women’s event.”

Scores from the Men’s event can be found here and scores from the Women’s event can be found here. Official CTRS standings are TBA and will be published on the BC Curling Tours website as soon as they are made available.

The next BC Men’s and Women’s Curling Tours event is the Crown of Curling at Kamloops Curling Club from October 26 to 28.